Timeout while waiting for (Golang Arrow Flight) client

I’m using the golang arrow-flight-client example.go file on dremio-hub as a basis for programmatic access to virtual datasets I have created in dremio.

The physical dataset is ~800 million records. My virtual dataset is ~46 million. I can successfully run this query from my client when dremio is running locally, but when I access a dremio running on a remote server, I get the following error:

(com.dremio.exec.rpc.RpcException) Timeout while waiting for client to be in ready state.

I’m new to arrow flight / dremio. Is there some grpc timeout that should be set when creating my flight client?

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

-Benjamin

@grossb1

Can you please try to set the support key flight.client.readiness.timeout.millis to a higher value?

The problem here is that the client is trying to load all records into memory before printing them out. For large numbers of records, this can get quite slow in the JVM resulting in the client timing out.

Thanks for the guidance, increasing this setting allows the query to run to completion.

Best,
Benjamin

@grossb1 Glad it worked ! Thanks for the update

Can you help me , how to set this property flight.client.readiness.timeout.millis. I am using Java Arrow flight-core 3.0.0 . I am getting following error …
‘[ERROR] Exception: RpcException: Timeout while waiting for client to be in ready state.
org.apache.arrow.flight.FlightRuntimeException: INTERNAL: RpcException: Timeout while waiting for client to be in ready state.
at org.apache.arrow.flight.CallStatus.toRuntimeException(CallStatus.java:131)
at org.apache.arrow.flight.grpc.StatusUtils.fromGrpcRuntimeException(StatusUtils.java:152)’
Thank you .

Hi,

Do the following:

Admin > Support and type the parameter in the text box to the bottom left and click show. The default is 5000ms

Hi @balaji.ramaswamy
Tow question for this configuration.