What Dremio is exactly?

Hi All

I am a Newbie and evaluating Dremio to see what it does better for which use-cases.
My understanding:

• Dremio is a Self Serve Data platform for BI/Data Science use-cases where the data is prepared, tagged as virtual data assets so that it can be shared within the enterprise. Just like Tableau prepares data assets to be consumed by business users.
  • The virtual data asset is in the Arrow data format which supports reflections (materialized views) and caching support as part of Calcite SQL queries.
  • Several data sources can be joined/queried and some data wrangling (cleaning, transformation can be applied)
  • The final data set prepared (as virtual arrow representation) can be persisted in Parquet format to any storage.

I have the following questions please:

• If I need to make a query to join two data sets each with 1 TB in size, what is the memory I would need to make this join happen, apply to transform the data and save the merged data as virtual data asset into Parquet? If the whole data will not be brought into memory, then a distributed processing engine is required (Spark). So How Dremio supports this use-case?
  • Dremio can be positioned still Data Wrangling tool with extra features which makes it stand out from the crowd? Or in the market how is it positioned? May I use it for interactive BI use-cases with OLAP queries under second response times? In this regard, can it be positioned as a competitor of AtScale (offering virtualized data warehouses)
  • What is the performance gains if the same is done with Presto, Hive LLAP, Impala, OLAP-on-Hadoop with Jethro, AtScale (Data Acceleration)
  • Can it read ORC tables as the data source?
  • Can we integrate it with any Database such as Teradata?
  • Cloud deployment options?
  • If my total data is 100 TB, what is the Dremio cluster size I need to have (memory wise)?

Thanks a lot…
Cengiz

Hi Cengiz, thanks for the questions.