General questions about Dremio

Hi to all,
I’m new to Dremio and I really love it, it’s like Drill but faster and easier to use.
Just some general questions:

1. Is it possible to share sources and datasets between Spaces and Users? Is it something on the roadmap?
  2. Does Dremio expose some API to fetch the registered Datasources for example? Where are they stored or which java class is responsible for that?
  3. Is it possible to call an external service (REST) to enrich the content of a column?

Best,
Flavio

1 Like

Hi Flavio. Thanks for the feedback!

1. A dataset belongs to one and only one space. Users belong to multiple spaces. If you want a dataset to be available in multiple spaces you can do that with virtual datasets.

2. We are working on this and should have it available shortly via our API. Will let you know.

3. This is also something we are looking to add, via UDF. If you have examples of REST services we should consider when designing this feature that would be great to hear.

Also, make sure you take a look at Data Reflections if you haven’t already. I think that’s a big difference vs other SQL execution engines. More on that here: https://www.dremio.com/compare/dremio-compared-sql-execution-engines

Hi @kelly,
thanks for the quick response.

1. I still think that it is usefult for a user to be able to import o share with some other user a virtual dataset (this is just my point of view of course)
  2. For example wehave datasets containing entities to reconcile (like in OpenRefine) so we ask that service if it gives us some info about an entity with some attributes (each attribute is mapped to a column). Does it make sense?

“Reflection” is a concept that is not entirely clear to me…is it a term to indicate that the query optimizer choose the sampling technique?

In the Enterprise Edition users can share virtual datasets with other users. You can click on the config button (looks like a gear) then navigate to the sharing options: