Version 3.3.1 update Performance Issue

As soon as i have updated my dremio, i am feeling the performance has been decreased…Even the jobs page is taking time load,The previews are taking 10 minutes to get loaded which was instant before. Do i have to do some changes in the setting.

Initially,I increased my split limit to 100,000 when i was using version 3.2 but after the upgrade i did the reset.

Best
Abhi

That sounds like accessing the Dremio database is slow - can you turn off the coordinator node and make sure there is no zombie Dremio process running?

I am sorry for asking this but can you please share how i can do that. I am new to drmeio.

Which operating system are you running Dremio on?

I am running it on centos.

Shut down Dremio and use the ps command to check if there are any other Dremio processes running.

its running on one master node and 5 other nodes… i should do it on all of it??

I did that but its still the same.

On the master node, can you run the compact and reindex commands documented at https://docs.dremio.com/advanced-administration/metadata-cleanup.html?

I will do that but i also got the below error and i guess i have to increase the size :-

Dremio Daemon Started as master
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
Dumping heap to /var/log/dremio/java_pid25240.hprof ...
Heap dump file created [4404436386 bytes in 23.571 secs]
Dremio is exiting. Node lost its master status.

When you upgraded, did you by chance overwrite any Dremio configuration files that added more heap? That would explain why Dremio is performing poorly.

No, I copied the config file and and re copied it and didnt overwrite it. I also have increased my heap size and its nto performing good. I am using a machien with a huge computing power.

If you want i can share my config here incase i am missing something.

Also, Below is the snapshot of memory utilization of the nodes and the master node:-